Our Members

Current Members

Karl-WillertKarl Willert

Principal Investigator

Karl received his PhD from UCSF, did his post-doctoral research at Stanford, and joined UCSD as Assistant Professor in 2008. He is currently a Professor of Cellular and Molecular Medicine.

Pooja Sonavane

Post-Doctoral Fellow

Pooja joined the lab in 2018, after completing her PhD at the University of Virginia.

Myan Do

Ph.D. Candidate

Myan graduated from UC Berkeley in 2011 with a Bachelor’s degree in Molecular and Cell Biology. She joined UCSD’s Biomedical Sciences Ph.D. program in 2015 and joined the Willert Lab in 2016. She is developing a novel antibody-drug conjugate to target FZD7-expressing cancers and investigating the mechanism of WNT/FZD7 signaling in stem cell and cancer biology.

Diana Gumber

Lab Manager

Diana graduated from Cal Poly San Luis Obispo in 2015 with a Bachelor’s degree in Animal Science and Biology. She completed a MS in Regenerative Medicine from Cal Poly SLO as a CIRM intern in the lab in June 2017. After graduating with her MS degree, Diana joined the lab as a Research Technician. She is currently studying the potential of targeting the Frizzled 7 receptor in the WNT signaling pathway as an anti-cancer treatment.

Neya Suresh-Kumar

B.S./M.S. Student

Neya is a BS/MS student at UCSD. She joined the Willert lab in June 2018. She is interested in the Wnt-Frizzled pathway because of its importance in development, and implication in disease. She hopes to gain a better understanding of the scientific process and learn lab techniques.

Naycari De Luna

CIRM Intern

Leia Yoon

Undergraduate Student

Sneha Lakshmanan

Undergraduate Student

Sneha Ganguly

Undergraduate Student

Past Members:

Holly Aur

Grober Baltazar

Rocio Barahona

Matthieu Bauer

David Brafman

Julia Busch

Emily Carnahan

Olivia Gaylord

Sarah George

Stephanie Grainger

Brett Henninger

Jiahao Huang

Ian Huggins

Christina Jessen

Natalie Kardos

Tamás Kovács

Nathan Kumar

Brianna Lonquich

Albert Lowe

Daniel McCoy

Riley Mills

Ellen Mintz

Hannah Morris-Little

Damian Ng

Nikki Nguyen

Jon Okubo

Krystal Oon

Luca Perna

Christine Phung

Amelia Prada

Angeline Puranen

Jenna Richter

Alessandra Rodriguez

Jason Ross

Charlotte Rossdam

Jordan Setayesh

Kevan Shah

Nikita Shah

Tyler Sloan

Stephanie Soltero

Alexandra Stanley

Aubrey Stiers

Tanisha Takhar

Julia Thulin

Alyssa Vukcevich

Sara Wirth

Kelsey Yang